All-Star Game Rewind: Week 19

The Reno Aces have begun a weekly showcase of past Triple-A All-Star Games and notable Triple-A All-Star participants. Our glimpse into the history of Triple-A Baseball’s midsummer classic will serve as a primer to the 2013 Triple-A All-Star Game, which will bring the game’s brightest future stars to Aces Ballpark in July.

Today we continue our series, focusing on the 19th Triple-A All Star Game, at Fifth Third Field in Toledo, Ohio.

YEAR: 2006
BALLPARK: Fifth Third Field
CITY: Toledo, Ohio
RESULT: International League 6, Pacific Coast League 0
MVPs: Kevin Witt (Durham, IL), Rich Hill (Iowa, PCL)
Attendance: 11,300
Television: ESPN2 (Jon Sciambi, Buck Martinez, Duke Castiglione)

2006 Box Score

asg2006GAME SUMMARY: INF Kevin Witt (Durham) slammed a towering two-run home run to lead the International League to their third victory in four years. Witt fell a triple short of the cycle, adding an RBI double and a single during the evening. The IL pitching staff allowed only two hits, with the first coming as a two-out double in the fifth by Justin Leone (Portland). Back-to-back solo home runs by Kevin Barker (Syracuse) and Ryan Raburn (Toledo) in the seventh inning sealed the victory for the IL.

FUN FACTS: The Charlotte Knights had six All-Star representatives (Jeff Farnsworth, Josh Fields, Charlie Haeger, Heath Phillips, Jorge Velandia and Ernie Young), to tie the all-time record for most players from one club, set by Columbus in 1992 (Mike Draper, Hensley Meulens, Sam Militello, Bernie Williams, Gerald Williams and Bob Wickman). The 2006 All-Star Game holds the record for the shortest game, clocking in at 2:16.

ACES TIES:  INF Alberto Callaspo and INF Stephen Drew were PCL All-Stars from Tucson. LHP Craig Brewslow (Pawtucket) and LHP Joe Saunders (Salt Lake) also played in the Game, and went on to play for the D-backs.

BEFORE THEY WERE STARS: OF Nelson Cruz (Nashville), who was in the Brewers organization at the time, went 0-for-3 as the right fielder for the PCL squad.

FUTURE MLB ALL-STARS (YEARS): Adam Jones (2009, 2012), Howard Kendrick (2011), Ryan Ludwick (2008), Joe Saunders (2008), Geovany Soto (2008)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: